Getting Started with PHP API - What is difference between "Customers" and "Accounts"?

(Shawn Murphy) #1

Hi,

I am new to Dwolla and looking to integrate your services with my website for my users with the API. I am doing some testing and just trying to get a handle on all the options available.

A very simple question that I can’t seem to get to the bottom of is what is the difference between a “Customer” and an “Account”?

In the sandbox I am able to create a customer of “type” personal and the response I am getting is successful and that the customer is “verified” etc. Is that the same as creating an account that I can add a funding source to and then send a payment? If so, I don’t get it because I never had to create a password for the “customer” record but I know for a Dwolla account you would have to create a password with it.

I know this is probably a rookie question but a little overview about how customers and accounts relate/differ would be much appreciated!

Thanks,
Shawn

(Spencer Hunter) #2

@Shawn_Murphy, “Customers” refer to “white label” type accounts and are created and managed via the API. “Accounts” represent a Dwolla account that was either established on dwolla.com, or created inline with the capture of the user account’s permission via Dwolla’s OAuth flow. More information on account types can be found here.

Let us know if we can provide additional insight into Customers and Accounts!

(Shawn Murphy) #3

@spencer Thanks so much for the info! That clarifies a TON for me :slightly_smiling:

I am going to be using the non White Label functionality (free) to start with my website, so I assume that I can essentially ignore any/all of the “Customers” types of endpoints and PHP classes/functions?

Lastly, you mention: “or created inline with the capture of the user account’s permission via Dwolla’s OAuth flow”